Six Flags are now one; flagship park pulls down non-American flags

Mindy Sparks
August 19, 2017

Six Flags Over Texas used to have a flag representing each chapter of the state's history flying over the entrance: One flag representing the United States, Spain, France, Mexico, the Republic of Texas, and most infamously, the Confederate States of America. And Six Flags has diluted or abandoned historic land theming in its parks over the past generation, with theming pretty much limited to those areas and attractions devoted to its DC Comics and other licensed franchises.

Since it opened in 1961, Six Flags Over Texas has flown flags from all six nations to which the state belonged through its history - including the Confederate flag.

"At Six Flags Over Texas we endeavor each and every day to make individuals cheerful and to make a fun, exciting and safe family cordial experience for our visitors. As such, we have changed the flag displays in our park to feature American flags". They will all only fly American flags from now on. "Since that time, the park has moved on to incorporate many other themes".

The decision to take down the flags came after the theme park chain encountered backlash following violent and deadly protests in Charlottesville, Virginia.

6 #AmericanFlags over @SixFlagsOverTX - park confirms removal of #Confederate States of America flag.

According to the Star-Telegram, flags are only flown at the Arlington, San Antonio and Georgia locations of the park.

From now on, you won't see five of those flags.

The park previously stood behind its display of the Confederate flag, but decided to make a change after the violent white supremacist rally in Charlottesville, Virginia last week, Fox News reported.

Other reports by Iphone Fresh

Discuss This Article