Bucs DT Gerald McCoy nominated for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

Leslie Hanson
November 14, 2017

He quickly halted his rush angle when he saw Cousins trying to escape a blitz by Anthony Barr.

Indianapolis Colts star wide receiver T.Y. Hilton has been named a nominee for the 2017 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award.

According to a press release from NFL Communications, the award was created three years ago in honor of the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Hall of Famer Art Rooney Sr. A panel from the NFL Legends Community, made up of former NFL players, will select eight finalists, with four coming from each conference.

Warrick Dunn, Curtis Martin, Karl Mecklenburg and Leonard Wheeler are on the panel that will determine finalists before December 15 when players also vote for the Pro Bowl.

The victor will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice and the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Trophy, which represents the key role sportsmanship plays in the game and how NFL players who demonstrate integrity and honor on the field serve as role models.

Of course, last year's Colts nominee, running back Frank Gore, actually won the award as the 2016 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award victor.

The Vikings nominated Chad Greenway in 2014 and 2015 and Terence Newman in 2016.

The victor of the this year's award will be awarded based on a vote of current National Football League players, and it will eventually be narrowed down to 8 finalists.

The eventual recipient of the award will also be able to donate $25,000 to a charity of their choice.

Other reports by Iphone Fresh

Discuss This Article