European Players of the Year shortlisted for World Rugby award

Annette Crawford
November 14, 2017

Paris - Last year's victor Beauden Barrett and his New Zealand team-mate Rieko Ioane were named among five nominees for the 2017 World Rugby Player of the Year award on Monday.

In a new step in the selection process, fans, worldwide captains, coaches and media will have their say before the panel considers the winners of the prestigious awards.

Following a stellar year for worldwide rugby, the shortlists for the ultimate accolade feature players who have excited and inspired fans around the world with their feats in 2017.

England and Lions' Owen Farrell was nominated for the second straight year and for a third in total.

Itoje was named 2016 Breakthrough Player of the Year and will be hoping to land the big prize this time around.

Israel Folau's bright year didn't go unnoticed, as the fullback was also included in the shortlist.

England's Lydia Thompson has been nominated for World Rugby's Women's Player of the Year, with New Zealand duo Kelly Brazier and Portia Woodman and France pair Romane Menager and Safi N'Diaye also on the list.

Three names were included on this year's shortlist for the Breakthrough Player of the Year.

In addition to helping Saracens win the Champions Cup in 2017, with Farrell scoring 126 points, both assisted in England's second successive Six Nations title earlier this year and were part of the British & Irish Lions squad who drew their Test series with world champions New Zealand in the summer.

"As ever, the selection of Men's and Women's 15s Player of the Year nominees by the panel has excellence as the core consideration and all are not just superb players, but role models".

Voting for the award is open until midnight on Sunday, with the ceremony due to take place the on November 26 in Monaco.

Other reports by Iphone Fresh

Discuss This Article