Federal Disaster Funding Approved For Jefferson, St. Lawrence Counties

Lloyd Doyle
November 15, 2017

The White House has ordered federal assistance directed toward Lake Ontario communities in six NY counties, all affected by high water levels this past spring and summer. State and local leaders had pushed for the federal declaration in hopes of reimbursing some of the costs to those local municipalities.

The aid will also assist with the implementation of hazard mitigation measures, according to the White House.

There will not be any direct assistance provided to homeowners.

Federal funding is available on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the fix or replacement of facilities damaged by flooding in Jefferson, Niagara, Orleans, Oswego, St. Lawrence, and Wayne counties. U.S. Rep. John Katko's office said the claims for Cayuga and Monroe counties remain under review.

"They are working very aggressively with Washington since the notice first came out to see what needs to be corrected so that Monroe County and Cayuga County can be added in", said Town Supervisor Bill Reilich, R-Greece, which was badly swamped.

Lake Ontario rose 30 inches from April through May, reaching a record high level. The outflows increased to 360,200 cubic feet per second - the highest amount in two decades.

In May, New York Governor Andrew Cuomo announced $22 million in state funds to help recovery efforts.

U.S. Rep. Claudia Tenney, whose district includes the eastern portion of Oswego County, calld the flooding along the lake "unprecedented".

Trump declared that a major disaster exists in Oswego, Wayne, Jefferson, St. Lawrence, Niagara and Orleans counties because of flood damage sustained from May 2 to August 6.

Other reports by Iphone Fresh

Discuss This Article