Walker signs off on removing minimum hunting age in Wisconsin

Lester Mason
November 15, 2017

Children younger than 10 years old are now allowed to carry guns and hunt in Wisconsin. Thirty-four other states have no minimum hunting age.

The governor signed the bill over the weekend, which went into effect yesterday, and now Mentored licenses for children under age 10 are available through the "Go Wild" system. But many limit hunting of bigger animals such as deer and bear to older children, roughly 12 years or above depending on the jurisdiction. It also allows both mentor and mentee to carry a device, eliminating the previous limitation of having one gun between mentor and mentee.

When the plan passed the Legislature, backers argued parents should be able to decide when their kids are old enough to hunt, and not the government. The law will come into force on Saturday on the day of deer hunting.

As reported in USA Today, Wisconsin is working on getting more firearms into the hands of children - of all ages - who are permitted to go hunting with a gun so long as they stay within arms length of an adult, according to a new state law.

Governor Walker signs four sportsman bills into law
Hunting Season: Children With Guns

The new law comes after two mass shootings in the last two months that shocked many in the United States, where gun violence claims the lives of an average of nearly 34,000 people a year, according to the prevention group Brady Campaign.

Opponents of the law, according to a report from the French News Agency, have found that a child under the age of 10 simply cannot handle a weapon without risk to himself or others.

A gunman killed more than two dozen worshippers at a Texas church service on November 5, including eight children.


Other reports by Iphone Fresh

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER