Michigan LB Devin Bush Jr. a finalist for the Butkus Award

Lester Mason
November 21, 2017

The Dick Butkus Award was originally only given to honor the best college linebacker, but in recent years, it has expanded to also honor the best high school and professional linebackers.

When comparing the numbers of the five finalists, it's clear that Edmunds actually has a shot at winning this award. He had a 44-yard pick six at Louisville and a 22-yard interception return for a score at Virginia Tech. If Edmunds were to win the Butkus Award, he would be the first Hokie to do so in the award's 33-year history. The other three finalists are Michigan's Devin Bush, Wisconsin's T.J. Edmunds and Georgia's Roquan Smith.

Smith, a midseason All-American, is on pace to lead the Bulldogs in tackles for the second consecutive season with 91 stops through 11 games (8.3 tackles/game) and has one of the team's eight forced fumbles.

Jewell also has 12.5 tackles for loss this season and 4.5 sacks.

The victor of the 23rd Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show on December 7.

"When a player receives the Butkus Award he will know two things". In addition to Edmunds, Clemson's Dorian O'Daniel is a finalist. The honor recognizes the best defensive player in college football season, as judged by the Football Writers Association of American and the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

Other reports by Iphone Fresh

Discuss This Article