Fans want Ohio State win memorialized if Baker Mayfield wins Heisman Trophy

Annette Crawford
December 7, 2017

Mayfield, reigning Heisman victor Lamar Jackson of Louisville and Stanford running back Bryce Love were chosen as finalists for the 83rd Heisman Trophy on Monday night.

Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield planting the OU flag on Ohio State's midfield logo after beating the Buckeyes in September is a moment Sooner fans will never forget. However, since they began inviting finalists to the award ceremony in 1982, Jackson becomes the sixth former victor to be invited back as a finalist the next season.

The Heisman Trophy announcement will be made Saturday evening in New York City. He is ahead of Sam Bradford as the school leader in pass efficiency for a career going into the January 1 national semifinal game against Georgia at the Rose Bowl.

After his two performances against them this season, Baker Mayfield has the TCU Horned Frogs' endorsement for the Heisman Trophy.

Mayfield is first in the FBS in passing efficiency, completion percentage and yards per attempt.

Jackson's numbers have been better than last season in some categories, but Louisville (8-4) has not had the big wins to go with it. "They both had great seasons and deserve this tremendous honor".

Mayfield will try to become the fifth player to cash in and win the year after being invited as a finalist and not winning.

The only Heisman victor to repeat is Archie Griffin of Ohio State (1974, 1975). Love finished second in the nation in rushing with 1,973 yards and scored 17 touchdowns.

Not making that cut was a couple of talented running backs.

Including one start for Texas Tech in 2013, Mayfield threw 12 touchdown passes in five games against the Horned Frogs.

San Diego State's Rashaad Penny leads the nation in rushing (168.9) and all-purpose yards (224.8).

The Big 12 runner-up Horned Frogs meet Stanford in the Alamo Bowl on December 28.

Other reports by Iphone Fresh

Discuss This Article