Mark Andrews wins John Mackey Award

Lester Mason
December 7, 2017

Oklahoma tight end Mark Andrews was announced Wednesday as the victor of the 2017 Mackey Award as the nation's best tight end.

He's the first Mackey Award victor from Oklahoma and the first from the Big 12 since Missouri's Chase Coffman in 2008.

Andrews was one of three finalists for the honor, joining Wisconsin's Troy Fumagalli and Penn State's Mike Gesicki.

A unanimous All-Big 12 First Team honoree, Andrews leads the nation's tight ends with his 906 receiving yards and receiving yards per game (69.7), and is second in yards per catch (15.6), third in receptions (58) and sixth in touchdown receptions (eight). His production has nearly doubled this season, with 58 receptions for 906 yards and an average of 15.6 yards per catch.

Success! An email has been sent with a link to confirm list signup.

OU quarterback Baker Mayfield is up for several awards, and is the heavy favorite to win the Heisman Trophy on Saturday night in NY. Andrews is the first victor from a current member of the Big 12. The John Mackey Award trophy will be presented to Andrews during "The Red Carpet Special" at The Home Depot College Football Awards at 6 p.m. ET, Thursday, on ESPNU.

The Andrews award announcement kicks off what should be a very busy week for several Sooners.

Before that, the Sooner All-American quarterback and the Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year could walk away with two more pieces of hardware.

Other reports by Iphone Fresh

Discuss This Article