Four Wisconsin players earn 2nd-team All-American honors by Walter Camp

Lloyd Doyle
December 8, 2017

The Walter Camp All-America Team was announced Thursday at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show, and Auburn, with Daniel Carlson, Braden Smith and Carlton Davis, was the only SEC school with three players selected.

Running back Jonathan Taylor, inside linebacker T.J. Edwards, tight end Troy Fumagalli and right tackle David Edwards were all recognized with the prestigious distinction. It marked the second-consecutive year Wilkins was named to the Walter Camp All-America team.

The Walter Camp All-America Team is the nation's oldest, with Thursday's announcement marking its 128th edition. Wisconsin had four Second Team All-America honorees, while top-ranked Clemson had three.

Pollard is the two-time defending American Athletic Conference special teams player of the year. Giles-Harris led the team in tackles for the second straight year with 117 and added an ACC-best 15.0 tackles for loss, 4.5 sacks and an interception. Fumagalli caught 43 passes for 516 yards and four scores. The consensus first-team All-Big Ten selection and Doak Walker Award finalist ranks third nationally in rushing, at 142.1 yards per game, and needs 79 yards in the Orange Bowl to break Adrian Peterson's FBS freshman record of 1,925.

The 2017 Walter Camp All-America team will be honored at the organization's 51st annual national awards banquet, presented by David McDermott Lexus of New Haven, on Saturday, January 13, 2018, at the Yale University Commons in New Haven, Conn.

Other reports by Iphone Fresh

Discuss This Article