Holland and Richardson in Aussie Test squad

Annette Crawford
January 23, 2018

Richardson‚ a 21-year-old Western Australia fast bowler‚ has been named in Australia's squad for the series of four Tests that they will play in SA in March and April.

Hohns said the Test series had been prioritised over the T20 series.

The rest of the squad contains pretty much the same core that recently won the Ashes series 4-0 against England at home with Peter Handscomb too managing to retain his place despite losing his place to all-rounder Mitchell Marsh.

"David is a very capable leader and has captained in Steve's absence before and done a fine job", he said.

Australian selector Trevor Hohns says Holland and Richardson are deserving of call-ups.

Holland made two Test appearances for Australia against Sri Lanka in 2016 and has shown solid form in the Sheffield Shield this season with 11 wickets at an average 18.63 from two matches.

Instead, Peter Handscomb is listed as the only other spare batting option from the team that won the last Ashes Test in Sydney, meaning Usman Khawaja or Shaun Marsh are the most likely options to move to the top of the order if Bancroft's poor run of worldwide form continues.

The Test squad leaves for South Africa on February 15 with the exception of Warner, who will lead the Australian Twenty20 squad which will be involved in a tri-series against New Zealand and England.

Opening batsman Cameron Bancroft is also tipped to hold his place for the tour despite poor form towards the end of the Ashes series, according to Fox Sports.

A back-up opener is also therefore likely to be picked in an expected 15-man squad, with predecessor Matt Renshaw battling with Joe Burns and Jake Weatherald for the spot after the latter two had strong first halves to the Sheffield Shield season. "He is the leading run-scorer in the (Big Bash League) and has also taken valuable wickets when handed the ball".

Twenty20 squad: David Warner (captain), Aaron Finch, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Ben Dwarshuis, Travis Head, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, D'Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa Squad for South African tour: Steve Smith (captain), David Warner, Cameron Bancroft, Jackson Bird, Pat Cummins, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Jon Holland, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Tim Paine, Jhye Richardson and Mitchell Starc.

Other reports by Iphone Fresh

Discuss This Article