WhatsApp 'Delete for Everyone' message time limit extended

Mindy Sparks
March 12, 2018

In a bid to improve user-experience in its messenger app, Facebook-owned WhatsApp has brought several new features in the last few months, including delete for everyone option in the group to erase unintended messages in wrong channels, colored background in the status update and more.

The extension of the time limit was also made available later on iOS and Windows Phone updates. While earlier the limit was 8 minutes and 32 seconds, when it came to revoking a message from group or private chat, WhatsApp has now extended this to 1 hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds.

The latest version of the WhatsApp beta app can be found in the Store here.

According to WABetaInfo report, the feature works by sending a message to the recipient whenever the sender tries to delete a message for everyone. When the user deletes a message for everyone, WhatsApp sends a new message to the recipient.

WhatsApp is also reportedly working on a new "Forwarded message" feature to make the receiver aware that the sender has forwarded it from a different chat or group, or even from the same chat.

The reason why some of the users were able to delete 3 years old message through some tricks was because WhatsApp did not check any other important information other than the ID of the message and the revoke request. The report further adds, "If WhatsApp finds a message in the database having the same ID of the received revoke message request, it checks the data of the message saved in the database, performing an operation: if [current date] - [the date of the saved message] is less than 24 hours, WhatsApp can successfully delete the message". This will ensure that nobody can fool the system to delete messages for everyone dating back to three years.

Other reports by Iphone Fresh

Discuss This Article