Nepal parliament re-elects Bidhya Bhandari as president

Lester Mason
March 13, 2018

She was first elected president in 2015, shortly after Nepal's post-war constitution was passed, which carves out one-third of seats in parliament for woman and mandates that either the president or vice president must be a woman.

Incumbent President Bidya Devi Bhandari has emerged victorious with an overwhelming majority and been re-elected to new term of office, as per the voting result made public following today's presidential election.

In Tuesday's voting, a total of a total of 330 lawmakers from the Federal Parliament and 550 lawmakers from the Provincial Council are eligible to vote.

President Bhandari received 39,275 votes, while NC lawmaker Rai received 11,730 votes.

Nagarik newspaper Editor Tilak Pathak said Bhandari had secured the backing of her party after playing a key role in a pre-election alliance between the UML and Maoists, which brought victory to the group. The polls opened at 10:00 a.m. and will close at 3:00 p.m.

Counting of votes started at 4 pm. With the Sanghiya Samajbadi Forum-Nepal and other fringe parties support, Bhandari's overall vote bank accounted for up to 26,921 in her re-election. However, the vote weightage of the lawmakers from the adjacent parliaments is different.

Nepal held elections for its national parliament and provincial assemblies in November and December previous year.

Out of the 334 federal parliament members, 326 members cast their votes in the election. Nation first female President tenure has been extended for another 5 years. She also did not endorse the names of the three persons nominated by the previous government as the National Assembly (NA) members.

Bhandari, 56, will be sworn in by the country's chief justice on Wednesday.

Other reports by Iphone Fresh

Discuss This Article