BJP leads in Gorakhpur, SP in Phulpur

Lester Mason
March 14, 2018

The constituency had fallen vacant a year ago following Yogi Adityanath's resignation as the Lok Sabha MP from this seat after he was made the chief minister of Uttar Pradesh. SP candidate Praveen Kumar Nishad is now leading with over 4,000 votes with BJP candidate Upendra Dutt Shukla in second spot after 5 rounds of counting. Gorakhpur is a seat represented by Uttar Pradesh chief minister Yogi Adityanath, believed to be a BJP stronghold. In Phulpur, SP Nagendra Patel is leading by 12,000 votes with his opposition candidate Kaushalendra Singh Patel. No provisions for announcing election results in Gorakhpur's counting centre.

Justifying their decision, Gorakhpur DM said, " Counting of votes is underway. At the same time in Phulpur Lok Sabha seat, BJP candidate Kaushlendra Singh Patel is also trailing in second place having received 47,631 votes.

As of 11.30am, in Gorakhpur, Samajwadi Party's Praveen Kumar Nishad is leading by 1523 votes, with 44,979 votes, so far. I firmly believe that we will win both #Gorakhpur & #Phulpur, SP is leading in initial rounds but a number of rounds are still left. BJP's Upendra Dutt Shukla is second with 82,811 votes in a constituency known as the bastion of state's Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath.

According to the EC, there are 19.61 lakh voters in the Phulpur Parliamentary constituency, while the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat has 19.49 lakh voters.

For Gorakhpur, the key contenders are Upendra Shukla from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Praveen Nishad from the Samajwadi Party (SP) and Surhita Chatterjee Karim from the Congress Party. Prior to Adityanath, the seat was thrice represented in Parliament by his mentor, Yogi Avaidyanath.

Counting is also going on for two Assembly seats - Bhabua and Jehanabad from Bihar. It remains to be seen whether the BSP support for SP can work against BJP. He confirmed that after the fifth round of voting, the SP candidate has 74,077 votes in his kitty while the BJP has 70,317 votes.

Phulpur Bypoll: Samajwadi Party's Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel leading by 1437 votes with 7600 votes, BJP's Kaushlendra Singh Patel 6163 votes after round 3.

Other reports by Iphone Fresh

Discuss This Article