3 officials resign in Kenya's electoral body over poll probe

Lester Mason
April 16, 2018

Tumult continues at Kenya's independent electoral commission (IEBC) almost seven months after elections ended. Given this severe deterioration of confidence in the chair, we find our position as commissioners under his leadership no longer tenable.

IEBC commissioners Paul Kurgat, Margaret Wanjala and Vice chairperson Consolata Nkatha announce their resignations during a press conference in Nairobi, April 16, 2018.

The electoral agency's top officials were divided over how best to conduct the 2017 elections and administrative issues regarding the procurement of voting materials.

"Instead, under the leadership, the Commission boardroom has become a venue for peddling misinformation, grounds for brewing mistrust, and a space for scrambling for and chasing individual glory and credit", the commissioners said in a statement. "We think that this is a culmination of leadership failure in the commission and its important that Chebukati takes action to resign from his office now, with the remaining two commissioners".

Chiloba had accused Chebukati of suspending him without the consent of all the commissioners.

Apparently, their resignation means that Chebukati has been left with only two commissioners, Prof.

Last year's election re-run raised fears of a return to political violence in Kenya where more than 1,200 people were killed after a disputed poll in 2007, although President Uhuru Kenyatta and opposition leader Raila Odinga appeared to put their fierce rivalry behind them last month.

Additionally, they mentioned that the removal of the Commission CEO, Ezra Chiloba, is a weighty matter and ought not to have been introduced as "a by a way".

Other reports by Iphone Fresh

Discuss This Article