Nitish Kumar, Sushil Modi File Nomination For Bihar Council Polls

Lester Mason
April 16, 2018

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and his deputy Sushil Kumar Modi are among those who have been named as candidates for the upcoming Legislative Council (MLC) elections scheduled to be held in Bihar on May 6. Congress has also declared its senior leader Premchand Mishra for the lone seat, it is contesting.

Others who filed their papers include BJP leader and former Union Minister Sanjay Paswan, and Janata Dal-United's Rameshwar Mahto and Khalid Anwar.

On Saturday, former Chief Minister Rabri Devi, Santosh Manjhi, son of another former Chief Minister and HAM chief Jitan Ram Manjhi, RJD state President Ram Chander Purve and Mohsin Qadir filed their nomination papers.

The scrutiny of papers will take place on April 17, while the last date for withdrawal of nominations is April 19, Mr Rai said.

Nitish Kumar and Sushil Kumar Modi will enter the state Legislative council for the third consecutive term, while for Rabri Devi, it will be the second term in continuity. The result to all 13 seats are likely to be announced unopposed as neither the BJP nor any other political have so far fielded any extra candidate.

About 29 votes are required for a candidate to win. As per the BJP's electoral strength in the respective Legislative Assemblies, the party has nominated 10 candidates in UP and 3 in Bihar.

Of the 11 members, whose term will expire on May 6, five belong to the JD (U), four to the BJP and one to the RJD. The BSP's Dr Bhimrao Amedkar, who had lost to the BJP's ninth candidate during Rajya Sabha polls last month, has already filed nomination after the Samajwadi Party left one seat from its quota for the BSP to compensate Dr Amedkar's Rajya Sabha defeat.

Other reports by Iphone Fresh

Discuss This Article