Manchester City dominate team of the year

Annette Crawford
April 20, 2018

After 33 matches Pep Guardiola's side have won 28 while only losing two and drawing three.

The PFA Team of the Year has been announced - and sparked debate on social media.

Marcos Alonso was the sole player from 2016-17 title winners Chelsea.

The team lines up in a 4-3-3 formation.

Harry Kane and Liverpool's Mo Salah as predicted make up most of the strike-force, with City's Sergio Aguero making up the attacking trio. The Egyptian's Anfield team-mates Roberto Firmino and Sadio Mane miss out though, much to the surprise of the Liverpool Echo.

We had a go at picking an alternative Premier League Team of the Year which could give the PFA XI a run for their money - including a couple of holding midfielders to give the team some defensive structure.

Lukaku was joined in setting a personal mark on the day by goalkeeper David de Gea, who posted his 21st clean sheet of the season across all competitions for the club, his best tally for United. De Bruyne and Silva are also shortlisted for the PFA's player of the year award, along with Leroy Sane.

Lukaku and De Gea will both be hoping to add to their season totals on Saturday when Manchester United square off with Tottenham in an FA Cup semi-final at Old Trafford.

The PFA Awards will be held on Sunday in London.

Other reports by Iphone Fresh

Discuss This Article