Pakistan Becomes the Ultimate Winner of ICC Champions Trophy

Annette Crawford
April 30, 2018

As per the schedule of ICC World Cup 2019, team India will be playing a total of 9 matches to qualify in the Semi-finals.

"First and foremost, the Cricket World Cup will give thousands of residents the opportunity to attend an worldwide sporting event on their doorsteps, but the benefits to hoteliers, restaurants, bars and tourist attractions will stretch right across Nottinghamshire".

India will then travel to London where they will square off against defending champions Australia at The Oval on 9 June, while Trent Bridge in Nottingham will be the stage of their third league match against New Zealand on 13 June. As per the schedule released for ICC World Cup 2019, the opening match will be on 30 May 2019 between the hosts England & South Africa.

Pakistan will take on the West Indies in the first match at Trent Bridge on Friday 31 May, while England face Pakistan in the second of their nine group games on Monday 3 June. Two-time world champions (1983, 2011), India, who also won the ICC Champions Trophy in 2013 in England, will play against the Proteas at the Hampshire Bowl in Southampton.

India have never lost to Pakistan in a World Cup match although they suffered their first ever ICC tournament defeat in the Champions trophy finals previous year.

India are presently the number-one ranked ODI side in the world and third most successful team in World Cup history behind Australia and South Africa.

ICC Cricket World Managing Director Steve Elworthy said,"Today's announcement of the schedule is another important moment in the build-up to the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 - the moment that the tournament comes to life for teams and cricket lovers across the world".

When the event was last staged in England and Wales in 1999, India had reached the Super Six stage where their only victory was against Pakistan at Old Trafford - their venue for next year's match.

Other reports by Iphone Fresh

Discuss This Article