De Gea named Manchester United's best again

Annette Crawford
May 3, 2018

Click through the gallery to see which United players have won the club's Player of the Year award multiple times.

De Gea becomes the first player to win the award four times, surpassing three-time victor Cristiano Ronaldo.

The 27-year-old scooped the main player award, named after club legend Sir Matt Busby, after he was pipped to it last year by midfielder Ander Herrera.

Over 107 000 votes were counted and De Gea received a massive 67% of them, while Jesse Lingard finished in second place with 10% and Romelu Lukaku came in third spot with 8%. "It's hard for words what Manchester United means to me", De Gea said after lifting the Sir Matt Busby trophy. "It's fantastic to play for the club, the history, the fans, everything". It was hard in the beginning, but I believed in myself, I worked hard and I am proud of myself as well. I didn't expect to win this one.

Meanwhile, Demetri Mitchell won the Denzil Haroun Reserve Team Player of the Season, Tahith Chong picked up the Jimmy Murphy Youth Team Player of the Year and Nemanja Matic scooped the Goal of the Season award for his thunderous late victor against Crystal Palace.

De Gea, who is out of contract in June 2019, also recently dropped a hint that he will stay at United because of the "affection and respect" he feels from supporters. Have your say in the comments section below.

Other reports by Iphone Fresh

Discuss This Article