FIFA Planning New 24-Team Club World Cup

Leslie Hanson
May 16, 2018

Federation Internationale de Football Association president, Gianni Infantino's plans will see 12 teams from Europe, with at least four South American sides and a selection of clubs from Africa, Asia, North America and potentially Oceania compete.

The Reds are reported to have been invited to take part in a new 24-team competition could be held every four years. Through his Twitter account, President Temer spoke about the World Cup after the announcement of the final list of the 23 players summoned for the national team earlier in the day, reports Xinhua news agency.

It would feature 12 European teams with Liverpool, Manchester United, Real Madrid, Barcelona, AC Milan, Bayern Munich, Ajax, Inter Milan and Juventus said to be near certainties.

Of course, the clubs would not have to take part should they not wish to do so, but with a guaranteed £50m for competing and a potential £100m for winning the tournament, clubs are unlikely to turn down the offer.

Europe's top domestic competitions, including the English Premier League and Spain's La Liga, have also opposed FIFA's plans.

The consortium backing the competition is being led by Japan's Softbank with the main backers coming from Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates.

In addition, the host nation will not have to be the country of the subsequent World Cup, as is the case with the Confederations Cup.

The Times' Martyn Ziegler reports that China have already thrown its hat into the ring to stage the inaugural edition of the Club World Cup in 2021.

Other reports by Iphone Fresh

Discuss This Article