MI vs KXIP Star Wars: Mumbai Indians vs Kings XI Punjab

Lester Mason
May 16, 2018

At the Wankhede Stadium, out of the seven matches played between the two teams, MI won just three games while KXIP won four of them.

Mumbai have to win both their remaining two matches to keep their chances alive for advancing to the play-offs. While the things are quite clear for Kings XI Punjab, in order to get to the playoffs they need to win both of the remaining matches while it is not the case with Mumbai Indians who can not be sure of a berth in the playoffs even after winning both of their remaining matches.

The other opener Evin Lewis also got back his touch in the last match, hitting a 42-ball 60.

Mumbai Indians have an impressive net run-rate to brag about, but their middle order has been a grain in the shoes as of late.

If Rajasthan Royals win: They knock out Royal Challengers Bangalore. Apart from Chris Gayle and KL Rahul, none of the other batsmen have shown the application to score runs.

Kolkata Knight Riders' six-wicket win over Rajasthan Royals has made Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore's chances of entering the play-offs hard. If Rohit Sharma's side wins against KXIP then KKR will be hoping for Delhi Daredevils to beat them in their last game. Yadav picked up 3 wickets for 23 runs in his four overs, the wickets including the duo of Gayle and Rahul.

The Punjab openers have been a major reason behind their success as the two have handed a flawless start to their side on several occasions in this year's edition. Yadav has been consistent with his run-making at the top of the order; his 473 runs is the highest in the league among his team-mates and he's in the middle of a good run as well. Kohli's side will be banking on Sunrisers Hyderabad to beat Kolkata Knight Riders and Kings XI Punjab losing to Chennai Super Kings. This means that the bowling responsibility is being shared between Tye and Mujeeb.

KXIP: Lokesh Rahul (wk), Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair, Aaron Finch, Marcus Stoinis/Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin (c), Andrew Tye, Mohit Sharma/Barinder Sran, Ankit Rajpoot. There is a lot of cricketing action waiting for you.

Other reports by Iphone Fresh

Discuss This Article