Patna'ites Get to Experience the Longest Lunar Eclipse of their Lifetime

Mindy Sparks
August 2, 2018

The "totality" period, when light from the moon is totally obscured, started at 10:53 PM and lasted for 103 minutes (1 hour and 43 minutes).

Anyone in Western Africa, the Middle East, and much of Eastern Asia will get to see the entire show, from the very beginning of the penumbral eclipse all the way through to the full eclipse and the waning minutes as well. People gathered to watch the longest eclipse of the century in Iran.

"Most of my friends visited Jawaharlal Nehru Planetarium and they could watch the eclipse", said Abhilash R., a resident of Vijayanagar. It is reported that the "blood moon", people will be able to see until next year.

The thick monsoon clouds over the city, however, restricted a clear view of the eclipse, disappointing several photography enthusiasts.


The moon remained completely eclipsed until 5:13 p.m. EDT (2113 GMT), with the eclipse at its most noteworthy at 4:21 p.m. EDT (2021 GMT). They took a bath before resuming their day on Saturday to wash off what they consider evil effects of eclipse. As many feared the lunar eclipse to be inauspicious, several temples were shut early on Friday night.

The planetarium had organised a "Moon Carnival" and set up special telescopes for people to experience the phenomenon. But it was absolutely overcast.

This was the longest Moon eclipse in this century, lasting for a total of 104 minutes, the Sme daily wrote.

Shibraj Dutta, a dentist based in Midnapore town - the headquarters of West Midnapore district - had stayed up late to watch the spectacle with his own eyes, only to be heartbroken. I waited for a long time.

Other reports by Iphone Fresh

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER