9 former Bills players among nominees for 2019 Hall of Fame

Annette Crawford
September 14, 2018

According to the official release: "Eighteen finalists will be presented to the full 48-member Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee during its annual meeting on "Selection Saturday", the day before Super Bowl LIII". From the great Al Davis to Jim Otto, Mike Haynes, Howie Long, Dave Casper, and John Madden, the Raiders have one of the most-storied histories in the National Football League, and in 2019 the team has a chance to add more names to the hallowed halls.

The former Kansas City Chiefs' tight end, who will be enshrined in the Chiefs Ring of Honor during Kansas City's Thursday Night Football matchup with the Los Angeles Chargers on December 13, was named one of 102 Modern Era nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Thursday. The other three aforementioned nominees have yet to make it past the initial cut.

The roster of nominees consists of 47 offensive players, 39 defensive players, five special teams players and 11 coaches.

Cornerback Champ Bailey was drafted No. 7 overall by the Redskins in the 1999 NFL Draft. As a Redskin, Bailey was selected to the Pro Bowl from 2000-2003, before he was famously traded to the Denver Broncos for Portis.

Gonzalez retired in 2013 after 17 pro seasons in which he had 1,325 receptions, second to Jerry Rice on the career list. The Modern Era nominees will be trimmed to 25 semifinalists in November and to 15 finalists in January.

Other reports by Iphone Fresh

Discuss This Article