John Prine Among 2019 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Nominees

Angelo Anderson
October 9, 2018

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame on Tuesday announced its nominees for induction into the 2019 class, and it's a mix of new and old candidates.

Def Leppard and Nicks earned their first-ever nominations, although Nicks was inducted in 1998 as a member of Fleetwood Mac.

The artists have been chosen by the Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame Foundation's nominating committee. In addition to Prine, 2019's Rock Hall nominees include Def Leppard, Devo, Janet Jackson, Kraftwerk, LL Cool J, MC5, Radiohead, Rage Against the Machine, Roxy Music, Stevie Nicks, the Cure, Todd Rundgren, Rufus & Chaka Kahn and the Zombies.

Since 2012, fans have also been given the chance to cast their vote.

The top five artists, as selected by the public, will comprise a "fans' ballot" that will be tallied, along with the other ballots to choose the 2019 inductees.

What makes an artist eligible?

Other notable artists who didn't make the ballot include Jane's Addiction, Nine Inch Nails, the New York Dolls, Bad Brains, Black Flag, Ice-T, Hole, Faith No More, Soundgarden, Primus, Smashing Pumpkins and Alice In Chains.

Performers, composers and musicians-become eligible for induction 25 years after the release of their first commercial recording - which is why it takes so long for some artists to be included. Full information regarding tickets will be announced in January, and donors and members in good standing by December 31 will have access to a pre-sale beginning on an as-yet unannounced date.

Other reports by Iphone Fresh

Discuss This Article