Koepka voted PGA Tour's top player of the year

Annette Crawford
October 11, 2018

Koepka is the sixth player in the last six years to win the award, the longest streak of different winners since the PGA Tour players began voting on the award in 1990.

That brings us to the PGA Tour video in which Johnson told Koepka he had won Tour Player of the Year.

He made his return at the Wells Fargo Championship in May, before becoming the seventh player in US Open history (and first since 1989) to successfully defend their title a month later in his fifth start back at Shinnecock Hills.

Koepka retained his U.S. Open title and won the US PGA Championship to take his haul of majors to three in 2017-18, but he was unable to help the United States beat Europe at Le Golf National.

"These feats were accomplished despite missing significant time due to injury, a testament to his work ethic and perseverance throughout the season".

As for the PGA Tour Player of the year honours, he'd all but wrapped those up in the views of the players.

Koepka was selected over a group of finalists that included Francesco Molinari, Dustin Johnson, Justin Rose, Justin Thomas and Bryson DeChambeau. But Koepka certainly has the inside track, with both Player of the Year awards going to the same player every year since 1992.

Brooks Koepka and Dustin Johnson have done their best to downplay reports about them almost getting into a physical altercation at the Ryder Cup, and we would rather take their word for it than be treated to another horrifically uncomfortable video like they one they put out on Tuesday.

Other reports by Iphone Fresh

Discuss This Article