WhatsApp's 'delete for everyone' feature gets a major update

Doris Richards
October 15, 2018

WhatsApp had introduced "Delete For All' feature previous year allowing users to delete a sent message within seven minutes". Meaning that now, the recipient of the message must get the revoke request within 13 hours, eight minutes, and 16 seconds for the message deletion to go through. The "Delete for everyone" was introduced previous year allowing users to delete a message in a conversation in under seven minutes. If you delete a message for everyone, but the recipient won't receive the revoke request within 13h, 8m, 16s (maybe because the phone was off), the message will **not** be revoked. In the following update, the time limit for the same was increased to one hour, eight minutes and sixteen seconds. Now WhatsApp has seemingly brought a new update which further restricts deletion from the sender's side.

WhatsApp beta tracker WABetaInfo reports that WhatsApp has updated the "Recipient limit" to restrict deletion of a message if the recipient didn't receive its revoke request within 13 hours, eight minutes, and 16 seconds due to any reason, even if the phone was inactive. Apart from the change in "Delete For Everyone" feature, it is also apparently adding a new rule to the recall message. But now the company has put some riders by making it mandatory that the recipient also receives the message to be able to delete it from everyone's WhatsApp account. Apparently, stickers are popular in chat apps in some Asian countries and WhatsApp is hoping to woo more users by allowing people to use big stickers.


WhatsApp has started testing a new update for its messaging service with the main focus set on revising its "Delete for everyone" feature. With this feature the company aims to ensure that the modified version of the app does not manipulate the time of days, weeks and months for 'delete for everyone feature.

Other reports by Iphone Fresh

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER