Facebook Messenger will let iPhone users unsend messages

Doris Richards
November 8, 2018

Facebook will soon allow Messenger users to delete sent messages within 10 minutes of sending them. Said something embarrassing? Don't worry, you can unsend that Facebook message, but you better be fast!

According to BusinessInsider, the new feature was spotted in the release notes for the newest Messenger update, but for now it's still listed as "coming soon". As Facebook writes, the feature may be useful "If you accidentally send the wrong photo, incorrect information, or message the wrong thread".

The idea has been lobbied by Facebook since April after it was revealed the company had retracted messages sent by CEO Mark Zuckerberg and other company chief, TechRadar reported.


Other messaging services, including Facebook's own WhatsApp, have the same option, though it gives users an hour to delete any embarrassing/drunken/threatening communications. Facebook is about to bring similar unsend functionality to its Messenger application, now that its WhatsApp mobile chat app has it.

Facebook will soon roll out a feature on its Messenger service users have always been calling for. It doesn't actually send the email until it passes that buffer time. This gives the recipient the opportunity to read the messages, even if you decide to take it back within the timeframe its eligible to be "unsent".

Other reports by Iphone Fresh

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER