Javier Baez and Jose Abreu win 2018 Silver Slugger Awards

Annette Crawford
November 11, 2018

The Silver Slugger was first awarded in 1980, and this year it brought an unexpected twist that we've never seen before. He joins catcher Carlton Fisk (1981, 1985, 1988), first baseman and designated hitter Frank Thomas (1991, 1993, 1994, 2000), outfielder Magglio Ordoñez (2000, 2002) and shortstop Alexei Ramírez (2010, 2014) as the only players in Sox history to win multiple Silver Slugger Awards.

Mookie Betts, who recently took home a Gold Glove Award and was named a finalist for the American League MVP Award, put together arguably the best season of his career, boasting a league-leading.346 batting average to go along with 32 home runs and a career-high 129 runs scored. This is the fourth time the club has featured three winners in a single season, having also done so in 2005, 2011 and 2016. With a stacked Boston Red Sox team to match, Martinez will be one of the top players to watch next season.

Abreu hit.265 with 22 homers, 78 RBIs, 36 doubles and a.798 OPS.

In his first season in Boston, J.D. Martinez mashed no matter where he played for the Red Sox. The 34-year-old outfielder was a first-time All-Star for the Atlanta Braves in 2018, and now he's a first-time Silver Slugger victor, as well. In 14 postseason games, Martinez hit.300 with three home runs, 14 RBI, and a.403 on-base percentage, homering in the clinching games of both the ALCS and the World Series.

Martinez wasn't the only member of the Red Sox to win a Silver Slugger on Thursday night.

Other reports by Iphone Fresh

Discuss This Article