Google Allo shutting down today. Save your chat history

Doris Richards
March 13, 2019

The search giant has also noted on its support page that after Allo is shut down, it will delete all your Allo messages, including incognito messages. The latest chapter in that saga plays out today as Google pulls the plug on Allo. Even so, we've tried to trigger it using the example below and it didn't work, so we're not sure quite how to get it running yet.

Previously, Google only said that Allo would go away in March, but a banner on the Allo website makes it clear this is it.

We're saying goodbye to Allo on March 12, 2019.


Google never really made the case for why people should move to Allo, and consumers the world over didn't sit around waiting for it. Learn how to export your chats and more. The messages will save as a CSV file and media attachments will save as a zip file. Google addressed some of that with updates, but they were slow to arrive. At the time, Google was in the midst of announcing a reorganisation of its entire messaging platform strategy, which is a mess.

Google Allo isn't the only Google service that it is being discontinued this month.

You can still save your Allo chats before the service is put to rest. After opening the Allo app, head over to Menu and then tap on Settings. The app will stop working at the end of the day, and your unsaved data will most likely vanish. However, if you did use it that one time when it first launched and want to back up that test conversation and sticker share, you can export your chats. Google continues to invest in Duo, which recently got support for web video chat.

Other reports by Iphone Fresh

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER