Masters Notebook: Johnson's practice swing doesn't miss the ball

Annette Crawford
April 15, 2019

Johnson ended his second round with a 73, a slight improvement over his day-one score of 74, as he aims for a repeat of his Masters-winning performance 12 years ago.

Zach Johnson hit the most relatable shot of the Masters on Friday when he accidentally made contact with his ball off the 13th tee at Augusta National while taking a practice swing.

The extraordinary incident became even more freaky once the ball had richocheted off the tee marker and come to rest only a couple of metres away, still on the teeing ground. It was so bad that it richocheted off the tee marker then popped in the air right in front of him.

"Yeah, that was a good one there", Johnson said.

Only his pride was hurt, since he was able to re-tee without a penalty because he did not intend to move the ball.


According to a new rule, because there was "no intent" to hit the ball, Johnson does not receive a penalty on the hole.

Ultimately, Johnson did not need to take a penalty stroke because he had not meant to hit the ball and it was not yet in play.

Johnson re-teed and ripped one down the middle, then hit his second to 30 feet and two-putted for birdie to get to one under on his round and one over for the tournament, putting him firmly inside the cut line for the time being.

Matt Kuchar, who also appeared in the group, wouldn't let Johnson forget his gaffe.

Despite the mishap, Johnson is positive that it was one-off, adding: "I don't think I could do it again if I even tried".

Other reports by Iphone Fresh

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER